The Philadelphia Wings started their 1990 season just like they ended the 1989 season, with a victory over the New York Saints.

Last night, the Wings opened defense of their 1989 Major Indoor Lacrosse League championship with a 9-4 victory over the Saints at Nassau Coliseum. Last April 7, the Wings won the MILL title by defeating New York, 11-10, at the Spectrum.

The Wings jumped to a 6-0 lead before New York finally got on the board in the third quarter and superb goaltending by last night’s MVP Dwight Maetche (30 saves) held off any Saints’ rally.

Andy Wilson scored three goals and Mark Hahn added two in the Wings’ 6-0 start. John Tucker, Gary Martin, Greg Manley and former Penn football and lacrosse star Chris Flynn added solo goals for Philadelphia, which opens its home season at 8 tonight at the Spectrum against the Pittsburgh Bulls.

Bob Cook, Matt Crowley and Vin Sombrotto scored for the Saints.

(Philadelphia Inquirer, January 13, 1990)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!